Guilty, No Matter What…

What does the Michael Jackson and Casey Anthony trial have in common? The public tried them and found them guilty way before the justice system had the opportunity to do so.

When Michael Jackson underwent trial for child molestation, many people were convinced of his guilt. They were so sure of it that they expected an automatic guilty verdict. The same goes with the Casey Anthony case. It’s the reason behind the backlash over her release. Casey Anthony was released at night and her whereabouts are now unknown because publicizing it might  put her safety in jeopardy.

Now I’m not saying she’s innocent, but I am certainly not saying she’s guilty. Just like the Michael Jackson case, there wasn’t sufficient evidence to prove the latter. Still people have held on to the belief that she in fact murdered her daughter. A huge discussion occurred at my work place after the “not guilty” verdict. My coworkers were seething in anger and shock while I stood there, watching them, thinking to myself: “Really people? Really?”

“Innocent until proven guilty”–that’s the saying. That’s what we’re supposed to believe about every person who is tried for any crime. Apparently, that saying doesn’t hold much power anymore. Maybe it’s time to change it to “guilty until proven innocent.” Actually, “guilty, no matter what” makes more sense because we all know that once the public has deemed you as guilty, that’s what you are and that ‘s what you will continue to be.

About MugoChi

My name is…well I’m not really going to tell you that. Those who know me will figure it out from my blog name. It’s a very unique name so guess away. Of course, the answer is right in front of you :P I’m a student at the most amazing journalism school of all time: The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, and I’m ready to put my interest in writing to work. So come with me and explore my world!! View all posts by MugoChi

2 responses to “Guilty, No Matter What…

  • Kate

    Wow, this is so true. I said the same thing too when my classmates were condenming Casey Anthony saying “She does not deserve to be free”. I guess we will never know what is right or wrong anymore. Most people have selective hearing and unless they hear what they feel is right to them, every other things is wrong. Nice article, love it.

  • Kate

    Wow, this is so true. I said the same thing too when my classmates were condenming Casey Anthony saying “She does not deserve to be free”. I guess we will never know what is right or wrong anymore. Most people have selective hearing and unless they hear what they feel is right to them, every other thing is wrong. Nice article, love it.

Leave a Reply

